Roman Imperial Coins

Ancient coins from the beginning of the Roman Empire under Augustus in 27 BC, to the monetary reform of Anastasius in 491 AD. Grouped by period, with chronological subcategories. Includes The Twelve Caesars, Adoptive Emperors, The Severan Period, Crisis and Decline, The Secessionist Empires, Recovery of the Empire, The Tetrarchy, The Constantinian Era, and the Late Empire.